Indian Chess News

An informatory blog about the latest happenings in Indian Chess. Fans of Indian chess can obtain up to date information about their favorite player's achievements. This blog will stay away from politics. These are my personal views. Your comments are always welcome!!!

Wednesday, August 08, 2012

Summary of Anand's Major Achievements

In case anybody interested, here is the summary of Anand's major achievements...
Zurich chess classic 2015- 1st
Match format World Championship 2014- Lost to Magnus Carlson
Match format World Championship 2013- Lost to Magnus Carlsson
Match format World Champion 2012- (defeated Gelfand)
Botvinnik memorial rapid-2011-1st
Match format World Champion-
2010 (defeated Topalov)
Match format World Champion
- 2008 (defeated Kramnik)
Tournament format World Champion-2007

Knock out format World Champion- 2000
World rapid chess champion-2003
World number 1 rank - April 2007- Oct 2008
Chess Oscar- 5 times winner
World chess championship 2005- 2nd
Wijk Ann Zee Corus classic- 5 times winner
Linares Super GM classic- 3 times winner
Mainz chess classic- 11 times champion
Corsica masters rapid- 5 times champion
Dortmund classic-2 times winner
Melody Amber rapid- 5 times winner
World cup- 2 times champion
Eurotel 2002- champion
Leon chess rapid- 7 times winner
Reggio Emilia Super GM- winner 1991
Siemens-Frankfurt chess - 2 times winner
Tal Memorial Blitz - 1st
PCA world chess championship- challenger 1995
Padma Vibhshan-2008, Padma Bhushan - 2000, Padma Shri- 1987, Arjun award

Soviet Land Nehru award -1987
Rajiv Gandhi Khel-Ratna award- 1991- 1st recipient
Jameo De Oro- Spains highest civilian award
Book of the year award-BCF- 1998
Sportstar - Sportman of the Millinnium award

and champion of many other tournaments.........


Post a Comment

<< Home

Amazing Counters
Online Payday Loans